South East Area Group Annual Conference 2021

Friday 4 - Friday 4 June 2021 Online Event

The South East Area Group Annual Conference 2021 will take place on Friday, 4 June 2021. The scientific committee have decided to conduct this conference online in view of the current situation. The conference’s theme is on ‘Current Topics in Accounting and Finance Research’. This year we are offering two Best Paper awards.

Keynote Speakers 

Sudipta Basu, Temple University, USA, Professor of Accounting and Robert Livingston Johnson Senior Research Fellow, Associate Dean for Research and Doctoral Programs.

Nerissa Brown, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, USA, Associate Professor of Accountancy and Academic Director for BSA/MAS Program in Accountancy and PwC Faculty Fellow and R.C. Evans Disruption Fellow

Bjorn Jorgensen, University of Copenhagen, Denmark, Professor of Accounting, Copenhagen Business School

Raghavendra Rau, University of Cambridge, UK, Sir Evelyn Rothschild Professor of Finance, Cambridge Judge Business School

Call for Papers:

Submission Deadline: 30 April 2021

We invite submissions of original papers addressing research questions in all areas of accounting and finance research. There is no preference to any particular methodology or research area. We encourage, in particularly, submissions by young scholars and especially PhD students of their ‘Job Market’ papers. Each accepted paper will be provided with feedback through a peer-review process. The top FIVE papers will be selected for presentation during the conference.

Submission Guidelines:
An anonymous full paper (not to exceed 40 pages including abstract, appendices, figures, and tables) should be sent alongside a title page including names of authors and affiliation. All papers should be emailed to the BAFA-SEAG co-chairs: George Alexandrou ( and Monomita Nandy (


The BAFA-SEAG is pleased to present TWO awards for best paper, sponsored by the Kingston University Business School, Capital Markets Research Group. The awards are in the following categories:

Best paper - £500
Second best paper - £300

The papers will be chosen by the programme committee.


Registration to the conference is FREE of charge and will open in early May 2021. To register for the event/purchase a ticket (free), Visit Here 

BAFA-SEAG Executive Committee

Co-Chairs: George Alexandrou ( and Monomita Nandy (
Secretary: Suman Lodh (
Treasurer: Salma Ibrahim (

BAFA-SEAG Scientific Committee

Professor Carol Alexander (Sussex)
Professor Alnoor Bhimani (LSE)
Professor Chris Brooks (Reading)
Professor Gilles Chemla (Imperial)
Professor Nigar Hashimzade (Brunel)
Professor Khaled Hussainey (Portsmouth)
Professor Dimitrios Gounopoulos (Bath)
Professor Andros Gregoriou (Brighton)
Professor Bjorn Jorgensen (Copenhagen)
Professor Lisa Jack (Portsmouth)
Professor Sandeep Kapur (Birkbeck College, UoL)
Professor Neil Kellard (Essex)
Professor Osama Khan (Surrey)
Professor Alexandros Kontonikas (Essex)
Dr Dimitrios Koufopoulos (QM, UoL)
Professor Roman Matousek (Nottingham)
Professor Khelifa Mazouz (Cardiff)
Professor Raghavendra Rau (Cambridge)
Professor Henry Servaes (LBS)
Professor Teerooven Soobaroyen (Essex)
Professor Sasha Talavera (Birmingham)
Professor Ane Tamayo (LSE)
Professor Teerooven Soobaroyen (Essex)
Professor Shahzad Uddin (Essex)