South-East Area Group

BAFA-SEAG Conference - 2021

Friday, June 4th 2021

Virtual Conference

The organising committee of the BAFA –SEAG is pleased to announce its annual conference to be held online on Friday, June 4th, 2021. The theme of the conference is on ‘Current Topics in Accounting and Finance Research’. 

Invited speakers are:

Sudipta Basu, Fox Business School of Business, Temple University, USA

Professor of Accounting and Robert Livingston Johnson Senior Research Fellow, Associate Dean for Research and Doctoral Programs.

Nerissa Brown, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, USA

Associate Professor of Accountancy and Academic Director for BSA/MAS Program in Accountancy and PwC Faculty Fellow and R.C. Evans Disruption Fellow

Bjorn Jorgensen, Copenhagen Business School, Denmark

Professor of Accounting, Copenhagen Business School

Raghavendra Rau, University of Cambridge, UK

Sir Evelyn Rothschild Professor of Finance, Cambridge Judge Business School


We invite submissions of original papers addressing research questions in all areas of accounting and finance research. There is no preference to any particular methodology or research area. We encourage, in particular, submissions by young scholars and especially PhD students of their ‘ Job Market’ papers. Each accepted paper will be provided with feedback through a peer-review process.

The top FIVE papers will be selected for presentation during the conference.


The BAFA-SEAG is pleased to present TWO awards for the best paper, sponsored by the  Kingston University Business School.

The awards are in the following categories:

Best paper award (prize £500)

Second best paper award (prize £300)

The papers will be chosen by the programme committee. The decision of the committee will be final.


An anonymous full paper (not to exceed 40 pages including abstract, appendices, figures, and tables) should be sent alongside a title page including names of authors and affiliation. All papers should be emailed to the BAFA-SEAG co-chairs: George Alexandrou ( and Monomita Nandy (

SUBMISSION DEADLINE: 9:00am Monday on 17 May, 2021

The scientific committee have decided to conduct this conference online in view of the current situation.


The registration is free for BAFA and non-BAFA members, but advance registration is required.  Visit Here


Please get the schedule of the conference from HERE and also see below.

9:00am-9:15am: Opening remarks by Ian Roberts, Head of Kingston Business School, UK

9:15am-10:15am: Presentation by Bjorn Jorgensen, Professor of Accounting, Copenhagen Business School, Denmark

10:15am -11:15am: Presentation by Raghavendra Rau, Sir Evelyn Rothschild Professor of Finance, Cambridge Judge Business School, University of Cambridge, UK

11:15am- 11:30am: Comfort Break

11:30am -1:00pm: Parallel Sessions in ROOM A and ROOM B (Refer to full schedule HERE)

1:00pm- 1:30pm: Lunch

1:30pm - 2:30pm: Parallel Sessions in ROOM A and ROOM B (Refer to full schedule HERE)

2:30pm - 2:40pm: Comfort Break

2:40pm - 3:40pm: Presentation by Sudipta Basu, Professor of Accounting, Fox School of Business, Temple University, USA

3:40pm - 4:40pm: Presentation by Nerissa Brown, Associate Professor of Accountancy, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, USA

4:40pm - 4:55pm: Award Ceremony and closing remarks

4:55pm -6:00pm: Networking


Professor Carol Alexander (Sussex)
Professor Alnoor Bhimani (LSE)
Professor Chris Brooks (Reading)
Professor Gilles Chemla (Imperial)
Professor Nigar Hashimzade (Brunel)
Professor Khaled Hussainey (Portsmouth)
Professor Dimitrios Gounopoulos (Bath)
Professor Andros Gregoriou (Brighton)
Professor Bjorn Jorgensen (Copenhagen)
Professor Lisa Jack (Portsmouth)
Professor Sandeep Kapur (Birkbeck College, UoL)
Professor Neil Kellard (Essex)
Professor Osama Khan (Surrey)
Professor Alexandros Kontonikas (Essex)
Dr Dimitrios Koufopoulos (QM, UoL)
Professor Roman Matousek (Nottingham)
Professor Khelifa Mazouz (Cardiff)
Professor Raghavendra Rau (Cambridge)
Professor Henry Servaes (LBS)
Professor Teerooven Soobaroyen (Essex)
Professor Sasha Talavera (Birmingham)
Professor Ane Tamayo (LSE)
Professor Teerooven Soobaroyen (Essex)
Professor Shahzad Uddin (Essex)


Co-Chairs: George Alexandrou, Kingston University (email: and Monomita Nandy, Brunel University (email:

Secretary: Suman Lodh, Middlesex University (email:

Treasurer: Salma Ibrahim, Kingston University (email: