Life-time Achievement Award

It is intended that Life-time Achievement Awards (LAAs) should be made annually to one or more individuals who have made a substantial and direct contribution to UK academic accounting and finance over the course of their careers. Such contributions will have have been made through research, teaching or public service. The award will only be given to an individual who has spent a substantial amount of time in his or her academic careers within a higher education institute within the UK.

BAFA will seek nominations for this award from its membership in the Autumn of each year. Each year a sub-committee will consider the nominations, together with any other names it sees fit to consider. The sub-committee will then make a recommendation, along with a brief report on the process followed, to the BAFA Executive Committee as to whom the award should be made. Normally, the sub-committee would comprise the current President, the current Vice-President, the General Secretary, one of the current editors of the British Accounting Review, plus one other member of the Executive Committee. The award would then be made at the following BAFA Annual Conference, subject to the individual concerned agreeing to accept the award.

The award has been made so far to:

Lynn Hodgkinson (2023)
Noel Hyndman (2023)
Chris Cowton (2023)
Robert Hudson (2023)
Kevin Holland (2023)
Bill Lee (2022)
Peter Armstrong, Retired (2022)

Alnoor Bhimani (2021)
Lin Fitzgerald (2021)
Alan Lowe (2021)

Elaine Harris (2020)

David Power (2019)
Robin Roslender (2019)

Aidan Berry (2018)
Ursula Lucas (2018)
Christine Helliar (2018)
Gareth Morgan (2017)
Christopher Napier (2017)
Jean Shaoul (2017)
Pam Stapleton (2017)
Christine Cooper
Richard Stapleton (2016)
Margaret Woods (2016)
Christine Mallin (2015)
Stuart McLeay (2015)
Michael Theobald (2015)
Stuart Turley (2015)
David Dugdale (2014)
Ron Hodges (2014)
Irvine Lapsley (2014)
Norman Strong (2014)
Mahmoud Ezzamel (2013)
Stella Fearnley (2013)
David Gwilliam (2013)
Prem Sikka (2013)
Robin Jarvis (2012)
Alan Sangster (2012)
Laura Spira (2012)
David Alexander (2011)
Stan Brignall (2011)
Howard Mellett (2011)
Dave Ashton (2010)
Clive Emmanue l (2010)
John Holland (2010)
Mike Page (2010)
Roger Adams (2009)
Dick Edwards (2009)
Dave Owen (2009)
Len Skerratt (2009)
Tony Berry (2008)
Colin Drury (2008)
Don Egginton (2008)
Maurice Pendlebury (2008)
Roger Groves (2007)
Trevor Gambling (2007) - awarded posthumously
Gerry Lawson (2007)
Keith Maunders (2006)
Richard Wilson (2006)
John Samuels (2005)
Trevor Hopper (2005)
John Grinyer (2004)
Tom Lee (2004)
Michael Mumford (2004)
Will Baxter (2003)
Susan Dev (2003)
Harold Edey (2003)
David Flint (2003)
Jack Kitchen (2003)
John Perrin (2003)
Cyril Tomkins (2003)